June 14, 2019 | San Francisco

Giffords Law Center’s 26th Anniversary Dinner, honoring Speaker Nancy Pelosi

In 1993, the Bay Area legal community came together in the aftermath of unthinkable tragedy with a vow to save lives from gun violence. After 26 years of legislative and litigation accomplishments, our organization and our movement stand stronger than ever before, with the country on the cusp of lasting, lifesaving change.

Join us on June 14 as we gather to recognize courageous leaders, celebrate the past year’s monumental successes, and remember those we’ve lost.


JUNE 14, 2019




2019 Courageous Leadership Award

Speaker Nancy Pelosi

On January 8, 2019—eight years to the day after Congresswoman Gabby Giffords was shot in Tuscon, AZ—Speaker Nancy Pelosi stood next to Gabby and introduced HR 8, a bipartisan federal background checks bill. Weeks later, the bill passed the US House of Representatives in a historic vote. This hard-fought victory is the culmination of decades of leadership by Speaker Pelosi to address the dangerous inadequacies in our federal gun laws. Her persistence in the face of fierce opposition has helped lay a foundation on which we can build legislative progress for years to come. We’re honored to recognize her distinguished leadership.

2019 Odgers Pro Bono Award

Jones Day

Jones Day has been an exemplary partner and asset to our movement for many years, most recently leading efforts to prepare for a Second Amendment fight at the Supreme Court, to keep guns off campuses and out of schools, and to secure funds for violence intervention programs in impacted communities, among other projects.



The Anniversary Dinner is only possible with the generous support of our sponsors—organizations and individuals dedicated to Giffords Law Center’s mission to save lives from gun violence. To sponsor the 26th Anniversary Dinner, download and complete our sponsorship form and return it to Natalie Fall at [email protected]. For any questions, please contact Natalie by email or at 415-433-2062 x309.


The Ron Conway Family, in honor of Gabby Giffords
Keker, Van Nest & Peters LLP
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
Zitrin Foundation


Jones Day
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP


Amalgamated Bank
Eve Bernstein
Bryan Cave Leighton Paisner LLP
Covington & Burling LLP
Farella Braun + Martel LLP
Fenwick & West LLP
James Fousekis
Hanson Bridgett LLP
George and Candace Hisert
Kilpatrick Townsend & Stockton LLP
Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein
Reed Minuth and Megin Scully
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Morrison & Foerster LLP
Mark Mosley
O’Melveny & Myers LLP
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Jonathan Powers
Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP
Harold Sogard and Susan Bolle
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati Foundation


Laurence J. Bardoff and Lilli Alberga
Bartko Zankel Bunzel & Miller
Owen Clements and Linda Cronin
Hemming Morse LLP
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Latham & Watkins LLP
Levi’s Safer Tomorrow Fund
Littler Mendelson PC
Nixon Peabody LLP
Oakland A’s


Paul and Helen Chapman
Coblentz Patch Duffy & Bass LLP
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
DLA Piper
Drinker Biddle & Reath
Gay and Carl Grunfeld
Constance Hiatt
Mikiko Huang and Marshall Stoller
David and Linda Kapnick
Tina Poplawski
Richards Watson & Gershon
Rogers Joseph O’Donnell


J. Lohr Vineyards and Wines
Le Grande Courtâge