Each and every day we see evidence of how gun violence continues to plague our country — from Oakland, California to Binghamton, New York. The images and stories we see and hear remind us that the over abundance of guns in our communities has a tragic impact on our nation, and underscores the importance of the Law Center to Prevent Gun Violence’s ongoing mission. The Law Center’s 16th Anniversary Dinner was a chance to mark the successes of our work and the efforts of our larger community — activist members, institutional supporters, pro bono attorneys, and volunteers. It was also a call to action for the work ahead in preventing gun violence. Please join us for an inspirational evening honoring those at the forefront of our shared mission and remembering those who have been affected by gun violence.

Who Will Face Down the Gun Lobby?

Our keynote speaker, Op-ed columnist and political commentator E.J. Dionne, Jr., has been a fixture in the American political landscape for 30 years. An outspoken supporter of gun violence prevention measures, Dionne was unflinching in his criticism of leaders who have failed to address the epidemic of gun violence plaguing our country.

The evening gave us the opportunity to acknowledge the outstanding pro bono contributions of eleven firms. The Law Center’s Legal Director, Julie Leftwich presented certificates to the following firms who have generously given pro bono support to our work: Bingham McCutchen LLP, Farella Braun + Martel, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher, Howrey LLP, Manat, Phelps & Phillips, LLP, McKenna Long & Aldridge LLP, Morrison & Foerster LLP, Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP, Nixon Peabody LLP, Pillsbury and Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP.

We thank our 2009 sponsors!

Bingham McCutchen LLP
Coughlin Stoia Geller Rudman & Robbins LLP
Jenner & Block
Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein, LLP
Morrison & Foerster LLP
O’Melveny & Myers LLP

BLACK LETTER \ discovery
Farella Braun + Martel
Hemming Morse, Inc., CPAs,
– Litigation and Forensic Consultants
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP

Bartko Zankel Tarrant & Miller
Ross Bricker and Nina Vinik
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
John and Michelle Scully Fund
Keker & Van Nest LLP
Moscone, Emblidge & Quadra LLP
Nixon Peabody LLP

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Berry Appleman & Leiden LLP
Coblentz, Patch, Duffy & Bass LLP
Cooley Godward Kronish LLP
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
James T. Fousekis
Harowitz & Tigerman LLP
The Herbst Foundation
HIRECounsel / Mestel Company
Howrey LLP
David and Linda Kapnick
Latham & Watkins
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Morrison & Foerster Foundation
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
Pacific Gas and Electric Company
Paul, Hastings, Janofsky & Walker LLP
Helen Hilton Raiser
Ropes & Gray LLP
Schiff Hardin LLP
Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP
Squire, Sanders & Dempsey L.L.P.
van Löben Sels/ RembeRock Foundation
William K. and Jean Coblentz Philanthropic Fund
Winston & Strawn LLP

Cam and Kate Baker
Carroll, Burdick & McDonough LLP
Alan J. Cox, NERA Economic Consulting
Linda Cronin and Owen Clements
Drinker Biddle & Reath, LLP
David and Linda Kapnick
Littler Mendelson, P.C.
Miller Star Regalia
Mark Mosley
Gail and Dick Odgers
Richards, Watson & Gershon
M. Ryder and Robyn Thomas
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati LLP

Kathryn McQueen Barnes
William and Iris Edlund
Hanson Bridgett LLP
i.e., Communications, LLC
Illinois Senator John J. Cullerton
Don and Sheri Joseph
Carol M. Kingsley, Kingsley Mediation Services,
– in memory of Jack Berman
Navigant Consulting, Inc.
Rogers Joseph O’Donnell
Sue Ann and Robert Schiff
Sideman & Bancroft LLP
Somach, Simmons & Dunn APC
Radha Stern and Gary Maxworthy
Roderick and Deborah Thompson
Trucker Huss, A Professional Corporation
George Tuttle and Ben Cushman
Amanda and Nick Wilcox