Thank You for Your Lifesaving Support


Former US Attorney General Eric Holder


Pam and Tom Bosley

June 27, 2017
The Fairmont Hotel
San Francisco


TwentyFour 300x400

Each year, the Law Center’s Anniversary Dinner brings together our community to honor the exceptional efforts of a few key individuals for their outstanding leadership in the gun violence prevention movement. The dinner, with an audience of 500–700 attorneys, business professionals, lawmakers, and advocates from all over the country, is a truly unique opportunity to recognize the movement’s champions, celebrate the Law Center’s remarkable achievements, and support the fight for smart gun laws that save lives.

Thank you for your generous support at the 2017 Anniversary Dinner. To see photos of the evening, click here.
QUESTIONS? Contact Natalie Fall at [email protected].

2017 Courageous Leadership Award
The Honorable Eric H. Holder Jr.

Holder_Headshot gray_630x882The Honorable Eric H. Holder Jr. served as the 82nd Attorney General of the United States from February 2009 to April 2015. Under his leadership, the Justice Department committed much-needed resources to cities and states grappling with the gun violence crisis and implemented many of President Obama’s executive actions on rearms that followed in the wake of the Sandy Hook massacre. In recent years, Mr. Holder has been an outspoken and insightful advocate for the legislative and community-based solutions that we craft, enact, and support at the Law Center.

As the third-longest serving attorney general in US history and the first African American to hold that office, he is an internationally recognized leader across a broad range of regulatory enforcement, criminal justice, and national security issues. In 2014, TIME named Mr. Holder to its list of 100 Most Influential People, noting that he had “worked tirelessly to ensure equal justice.” Including his tenure as attorney general, Mr. Holder has served in government for more than 30 years, having been appointed to various positions requiring US Senate confirmation by Presidents Obama, Clinton, and Reagan. Mr. Holder returned to the law firm of Covington & Burling after his service as attorney general, where he advises clients on complex investigations and litigation matters.

We commend Mr. Holder for being one of the rare prominent national leaders unafraid to step into this fierce debate and stand up for smart gun laws, and we are honored to present him with our 2017 Courageous Leadership Award.

Pam & Tom Bosley

Pam and Tom Bosley holding a portrait of their deceased son, while their two sons stand behind them.Pam and Tom Bosley lost their teenage son, Terrell, when he was shot and killed outside his church on the way to choir practice on the South Side of Chicago in 2006. In the aftermath of this truly senseless tragedy, Mr. and Mrs. Bosley turned grief into action by founding two nonprofit organizations committed to helping those affected by the crisis of gun violence plaguing our cities.

Realizing the limited support available to parents whose children have been murdered in Chicago, Mr. and Mrs. Bosley formed Purpose Over Pain, an advocacy and support group focused on offering much-needed assistance to grieving families and fighting for solutions to the gun violence epidemic. They also launched the Terrell Bosley Anti-Violence Association, providing food, clothing, and community events for young people and their families. In addition, Mr. and Mrs. Bosley both work as part of violence prevention initiatives at the St. Sabina Church with renowned pastor and activist Father Michael Pfleger.

Mr. and Mrs. Bosley, both born and raised in Chicago, have dedicated their lives to serving their community and creating lifesaving change out of unthinkable tragedy. In admiration of their courage and commitment to preventing more families from suffering the loss of a child to gun violence, we honor Mr. and Mrs. Bosley with our 2017 Lifesaving Service Award.

Paul, Weiss

PW Logo WhiteLaw firm Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP is the recipient of the Law Center’s 2017 Richard W. Odgers Pro Bono Partner Award, in recognition of the essential role they have played in creating the Firearms Accountability Counsel Taskforce, a bold new partnership between the private bar and the gun violence prevention movement. Committing a remarkable amount of invaluable resources to this project, the firm’s support of the Law Center’s efforts to hold the firearms industry and the gun lobby accountable for profiting at the expense of public safety will have a tangible, lifesaving impact for years to come.

Richard W. Odgers Pro Bono Partner Award

Richard W. “Dick” Odgers (1936–2014) was a beloved founder, supporter, and friend to the Law Center. He helped create the organization after the 101 California Street shooting and served as the organization’s first president, staying active on the board for 16 years. In 2015, we renamed our annual pro bono partner award after Odgers, paying tribute to his remarkable legacy as an attorney and champion of smart gun laws.


Our work is only possible thanks to the generous support of our Anniversary Dinner sponsors. Each contribution from these organizations and individuals have a tangible impact on our strength and success, and we’re deeply grateful to them for joining us for this year’s event.

Learn more about sponsor levels and benefits.


PW Logo Black


KVP Logo
Lieff Logo
MTO Logo


FBM Logo
Jones Day Logo


Hemming Morse LLP
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP
Morrison & Foerster LLP/The Morrison & Foerster Foundation
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP
Sheppard, Mullin, Richter, & Hampton, LLP


Bartko, Zankel, Bunzel & Miller
The Ron Conway Family, in honor of Gabby Giffords
Covington & Burling LLP
James T. Fousekis
Kilpatrick Towsend & Stockton LLP
Anthony Malutta & Shoshana Chazan
O’Melveny & Myers LLP
Jonathan Powers


BraunHagey & Borden LLP
Bryan Cave LLP
Alexis Coll-Very and Lance Very
Linda Cronin & Owen Clements
The Feeney & Heisse Families
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Goodin MacBride Squeri & Day, LLP
Hanson Bridgett LLP
Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Littler Mendelson P.C.
Mark L. Mosley
Richards, Watson & Gershon
Megin C. Scully & Reed Minuth
Staff of the San Francisco City Attorney’s Office
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati Foundation


Lilli I. Alberga & Laurence J. Bardoff
Buckley Sandler LLP
Paul and Helen Chapman
Coblentz Patch Duffy & Bass LLP
Ben Cushman & George Tuttle Fund
Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
David & Linda Kapnick
Mintz Levin Cohn Ferris Glovsky and Popeo PC
Nossaman LLP
Helen Hilton Raiser
Sacks Ricketts & Case LLP
Shartsis Friese LLP
Nina Vinik
Vaughn Walker


Adler & Colvin
Davis Wright Tremaine LLP
Family Law Offices of Carol A. Gorenberg
Hope and Heal Fund
Hosie Rice LLP
Dr. Helen Mikiko Huang and Dr. Marshall Stoller
Edward Kallgren
Carol Kingsley, in loving memory of Jack Berman
Law Offices of Sherman Kassof
Juliet Leftwich & Dan Rapaport
Rogers Joseph O’Donnell
David Roth and Anita Price
Sideman & Bancroft LLP
Somach Simmons & Dunn
Jeanna Steele
Amanda and Nick Wilcox