In 2015, Wisconsin repealed its 48 hour waiting period requirement.1 Prior to repeal, the law provided that a federally licensed firearms dealer in Wisconsin could not transfer a handgun to any person until 48 hours had elapsed from the time the dealer had been notified by the Wisconsin Department of Justice (“DOJ”), that the transfer did not violate state law. The new law provides that if the DOJ search indicates that is unclear whether the potential purchaser is prohibited from purchasing a firearm, DOJ must notify the dealer of the results no later than 5 working days after the search was requested.2

See our Waiting Periods policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. Wis. Stat. § 175.35. ⤴︎
  2. Id. ⤴︎