In certain counties in North Carolina, identified by State statute, it is unlawful for any parent or guardian to knowingly permit his child under the age of 12 years to use, possess, or have custody of an air rifle, air pistol, or BB gun.1 Additionally, North Carolina prohibits any person from causing, encouraging, or aiding a minor who is less than 18 years old to possess or carry, whether openly or concealed, any BB gun, stun gun, air rifle, or air pistol.2 North Carolina has no other law regulating non-powder guns.

See our Non-Powder Guns policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-316. ⤴︎
  2. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-269.2(e). ⤴︎