California law prohibits the purchase of more than one new handgun within any 30-day period.1 Also, licensed firearms dealers may not deliver a handgun to anyone following notification from the California Department of Justice that the purchaser has applied to acquire another handgun within the preceding 30-day period.2 However, these restrictions do not apply to firearm transactions between private parties, even when those transactions are processed as required through a licensed dealer.3
Firearms dealers are required to post conspicuously in their licensed premises a warning, in block letters at least one inch in height, that notifies potential purchasers of the prohibitions on applications to purchase more than one handgun within any 30-day period.4
See our Multiple Purchases or Sales of Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.
- Cal. Penal Code § 27535. ⤴︎
- Cal. Penal Code § 27540(f). ⤴︎
- Cal. Penal Code § 27535. There are a number of other exceptions to these restrictions laid out in this section, including, but not limited to, exceptions for law enforcement agencies, private security companies, licensed collectors, and the replacement of a lost or stolen handgun. Id. ⤴︎
- Cal. Penal Code § 26835(g). ⤴︎