Minnesota generally prohibits the possession of ammunition, handguns, and semiautomatic military-style assault weapons by persons who are under age 18. However, under state law, such persons may carry or possess ammunition, or a semiautomatic military-style assault weapon or handgun in the actual presence or under the direct supervision of a parent or guardian.1

The state prohibits a federally licensed firearms dealer from transferring a handgun or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon to a person under age 18 without complying with certain background check requirements.2

Minnesota prohibits a person under age 16 from possessing a firearm without being accompanied by a parent or guardian,3 and provides that a parent or guardian may not knowingly direct, allow or permit a person under age 16 to possess a firearm, unless this person is:

• Accompanied by a parent or guardian;

• On land owned by, or occupied as the principal residence of, the person or the person’s parent or guardian;

• Participating in an organized target shooting program with adult supervision;

• Participating in a firearms safety program or traveling to and from class; or

• Age 14 or 15 and has a firearms safety certificate.4

Minnesota prohibits:

• Outside a municipality, furnishing a child under 14 years of age with a firearm, airgun or ammunition without the consent of the child’s parent or guardian;5

• Outside a municipality, for a parent or guardian to allow a child under 14 years of age to handle or use a firearm, airgun or ammunition outside the presence of the parent or guardian;6 or

• In a municipality, furnishing a minor under age 18 with a firearm, airgun or ammunition without the consent of the minor’s parent or guardian, or the municipal police department.7

Federal age restrictions impose stricter limits.

See our Minimum Age to Purchase or Possess Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. Minn. Stat. § 624.713, subd. 1(1). Other exceptions exist for: 1) purposes of a military drill while under competent supervision, under the auspices of a legally recognized military organization; 2) for instruction, competition or target practice under direct supervision on a law enforcement-approved firing range; or 3) upon successful completion of a course designed to teach marksmanship and safety with a handgun or semiautomatic military-style assault weapon and approved by the state commissioner of natural resources. ⤴︎
  2. Minn. Stat. § 624.7132, subd. 15(b)(1). ⤴︎
  3. Minn. Stat. § 97B.021, subd. 1(a). ⤴︎
  4. Minn. Stat. § 97B.021, subd. 1(b), subd. 1a. ⤴︎
  5. Minn. Stat. § 609.66, subd. 1(a)(6). ⤴︎
  6. Id. ⤴︎
  7. Minn. Stat. § 609.66, subd. 1b. ⤴︎