Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in California

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Since July 1, 2017, California law has required individuals to report the loss or theft of a firearm to local law enforcement in the jurisdiction where the loss or theft occurred within five days of the time they discovered or reasonably should have discovered the loss or theft.1

Licensed California firearms dealers are also required to report the loss or theft of any firearm or ammunition within 48 hours to the appropriate law enforcement agency in the city, county, or city and county in California where the dealer’s business premises are located.2

 

Notes
  1. Cal. Penal Code § 25250. ⤴︎
  2. Cal. Penal Code § 26885(b). ⤴︎

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Connecticut

Connecticut requires any person who lawfully possesses a firearm that is lost or stolen to report the loss or theft to the organized local police department for the town in which the loss or theft occurred or, if the town does not have an organized local police department, to the state police troop having jurisdiction for the town, within 72 hours of when the person discovered or should have discovered the loss or theft.1

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53-202g(a). ⤴︎

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Delaware

Delaware requires that a firearm owner report the loss or theft of his or her firearm within seven days after the discovery of the loss or theft to: 1) the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the location where the loss or theft occurred; or 2) any State Police Troop.1

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1461(a). ⤴︎

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Illinois

Any Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) Card owner who loses his or her firearm or has his or her firearm stolen must report the loss or theft to his or her local law enforcement agency within 72 hours after he or she knows of the loss or theft.1

This requirement does not apply if:2

  • Failure to report is due to an act of God, act of war, or inability of a law enforcement agency to receive the report;
  • The person is hospitalized, in a coma, or is otherwise seriously physically or mentally impaired as to prevent the person from reporting; or
  • The person’s designee makes a report if the person is unable to make the report.

The relevant law enforcement agency must take a written report of the loss or theft and must, as soon as practical, enter the firearm’s serial number as stolen into the Law Enforcement Agencies Data System (LEADS).3

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. 720 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/24-4.1(a). ⤴︎
  2. 720 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/24-4.1(c). ⤴︎
  3. 720 Ill. Comp. Stat. 5/24-4.1(b). ⤴︎

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Maryland

Under Maryland law, a gun dealer must advise a purchaser or recipient at the time of transfer that the purchaser or recipient is required to report a lost or stolen regulated firearm to the proper local law enforcement agency.1

If a regulated firearm is lost or stolen, the owner must report the loss or theft to the local law enforcement agency within 72 hours after the owner first discovers the loss or theft.2

On receipt of a report of a lost or stolen regulated firearm, a local law enforcement agency must report to the Secretary of State Police and enter into the National Crime Information Center database, to the extent known, the caliber, make, model, manufacturer and serial number of the regulated firearm as well as any other distinguishing number or identification mark on the regulated firearm.3

For purposes of the above provisions, “regulated firearm” means a handgun or one of any specified models of assault weapons.4

Maryland provides as an exception to the prohibition on purchasing more than one handgun or assault weapon within a 30-day period the acquisition of another such firearm by a person who provides a copy of an official police report containing relevant information regarding the owner of the lost or stolen firearm and information regarding the gun and its loss or theft.5 See the Multiple Purchases & Sales of Firearms in Maryland section for additional information.

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-146(a). ⤴︎
  2. Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-146(b). ⤴︎
  3. Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-146(c). A first time violation of these provisions is a civil offense punishable by a fine of not more than $500.  A second or subsequent violation is a misdemeanor subject to 90 days imprisonment or a $500 fine, or both. ⤴︎
  4. Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-101(r). ⤴︎
  5. See Md. Code Ann., Pub. Safety § 5-128(a)(8). ⤴︎

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Massachusetts

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Massachusetts gun owners are required to report the loss, theft or recovery of a gun to the Department of Criminal Justice Information Services and the licensing authority in the city or town where the owner resides. Among other penalties, failure to report the lost or theft of the firearm results in the suspension or permanent revocation of such person’s Firearm Identification Card or license to carry firearms, or both.1 Gun dealers are subject to a similar requirement.2

A law enacted in 2014 requires gun owners to sign an affidavit included in the Firearm Identification Card (FID) or license to carry renewal form stating that they have not lost a firearm or had one stolen from their possession since the date of their last application or renewal. Under the 2014 law, a gun owner may be imprisoned for one to five years for failing to report the loss or theft of a firearm, or the recovery of one previously reported lost or stolen.3

Notes
  1. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 140, § 129C. ⤴︎
  2. Id., Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 140, § 123 (Seventeenth). ⤴︎
  3. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 140, §§ 129B, 129C. ⤴︎

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Michigan

Any person who owns a firearm must, within five days after he or she knows his or her firearm is stolen, report the theft to a police agency having jurisdiction over that theft.1 Michigan does not require a gun owner who loses his or her firearm to report the loss to law enforcement.

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. Mich. Comp. Laws Serv. § 28.430(1). ⤴︎

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Nebraska

Nebraska has no law requiring firearm owners to report the loss or theft of a firearm. However, a law enacted by Nebraska in 2010 states:

The Nebraska State Patrol shall inform each permitholder, upon the issuance or renewal of a permit to carry a concealed handgun, that if a handgun, or other firearm, owned by such permitholder is lost or stolen, the permitholder should notify his or her county sheriff or local police department of that fact.1

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. 2010 Neb. ALS 817, § 6. ⤴︎

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in New Jersey

New Jersey requires gun owners to report the loss or theft of any firearm to local law enforcement of the jurisdiction where the loss or theft occurred (or to the Superintendent of the New Jersey State Police if the locality has no police force) within 36 hours of discovery of the loss or theft.1

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. N.J. Stat. Ann. § 2C:58-19. ⤴︎

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in New York

New York requires any owner or other person lawfully in possession of a firearm or ammunition to report the loss or theft of the gun or ammunition to a police department or sheriff’s office within 24 hours of the discovery of the loss or theft.  In addition, a firearms dealer or ammunition seller must report the loss or theft of ammunition within 24 hours of discovery of the loss or theft.  A violation of these laws is punishable as a misdemeanor.1

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. N.Y. Penal Law § 400.10. ⤴︎

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania does not require firearm owners to report the loss or theft of a firearm. However, in 2008, Pennsylvania amended its law prohibiting the false reporting of an offense or incident to law enforcement authorities to make the offense graded one step greater if the false report involves the theft or loss of a firearm.1

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. 18 Pa. Cons. Stat. Ann. § 4906. ⤴︎

Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms in the District of Columbia

Any person or organization holding a firearms registration certificate must notify the District Chief of Police in writing of the loss, theft, or destruction of the registration certificate or of a registered firearm (including the circumstances, if known) immediately upon discovering the loss, theft or destruction.1

The registration certificate holder must also return the registration certificate for the firearm that has been lost, stolen, destroyed, sold or otherwise transferred or disposed of firearm to the Chief at the time the holder notifies the Chief of such loss, theft, destruction, sale, transfer or other disposition.2

See our Reporting Lost or Stolen Firearms policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. D.C. Code Ann. § 7-2502.08(a)(1). ⤴︎
  2. D.C. Code Ann. § 7-2502.08(b). ⤴︎