See our Carrying Concealed Weapons policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

In 2015, Kansas passed S.B. 45 into law, authorizing anyone 21 years of age and older to carry a concealed firearm on their person without a license or permit.  Individuals under 21 years of age may only do so when on their own land, abode, or fixed place of business.1

Despite this permitless carry provision, Kansas law still authorizes the Attorney General to issue concealed handgun licenses, which are valid throughout the state for four years after the date they are issued.2  The law makes clear, however, that “the availability of [such] licenses . . . shall not be construed to impose a general prohibition on the carrying of handguns without such license, whether carried openly or concealed, or loaded or unloaded.”3

Since January 1, 2007, Kansas has been a “shall issue” state, meaning that the Attorney General must issue a concealed handgun license to applicants who meets certain qualifications.4 The Attorney General must issue a license if the applicant:

  • Is a resident of the county where the application is made and is a resident of the state;
  • Is 21 years of age or older;
  • Is not prohibited from possessing a firearm under federal or Kansas law; and
  • Presents evidence satisfactory to the attorney general that he or she has satisfactorily completed a weapons safety and training course approved by the attorney general (see below for further information).5

However, Kansas law gives the sheriff of the applicant’s county of residence or the chief law enforcement officer of any law enforcement agency discretion to submit, within 45 days after receipt of the application, a voluntary report to the Attorney General containing readily discoverable information corroborated through public records, which, when combined with another enumerated factor establishes that the applicant poses a significantly greater threat to law enforcement or the public at large than the average citizen.6 The Attorney General must either issue the license within 90 days or deny the application based solely on the report submitted by the sheriff or other chief law enforcement officer or grounds that the applicant is legally disqualified.7 If the Attorney General denies the application, the Attorney General must notify the applicant in writing, stating the ground for denial and informing the applicant the opportunity for a hearing pursuant to the Kansas Administrative Procedure Act.8

Firearm Safety Training

An applicant for a Kansas concealed handgun license must present evidence satisfactory to the Attorney General that he or she has satisfactorily completed a handgun safety and training course approved by the attorney general.9

The Attorney General is required to adopt rules and regulations establishing procedures and standards for the eight-hour handgun safety and training course.10 Such standards must include:

  • A requirement that trainees receive training in the safe storage of handguns, actual firing of weapons, and instruction in Kansas laws governing the carrying of concealed handguns and the use of deadly force;
  • General guidelines for courses which are compatible with the industry standard for basic handgun training for civilians;
  • Qualifications for instructors; and
  • A requirement that the course be certified or sponsored by the National Rifle Association or a law enforcement agency, college, private or public institution or organization or handgun training school approved by the attorney general.11

Safety and training courses taken outside the state of Kansas can satisfy Kansas’ CCW permitting requirement if the Attorney General has certified that the out-of-state course meets or exceeds the standards set by Kansas law.12

The following constitutes sufficient evidence of satisfactory completion of an approved handgun safety and training program:

  • Evidence of completion of the course in the form provided by rules and regulations adopted by the attorney general; or
  • An affidavit from the instructor, school, club, organization or group that conducted or taught such course attesting to the completion of the course by the applicant.13

Duration & Renewal

Kansas licenses to carry concealed weapons are valid for a period of four years from the date of issuance.14 The Attorney General must mail a notice of expiration and renewal form to the license holder at least 90 days prior to the expiration date of the license.15 A law enacted in Kansas in 2010 removed the requirement that the license holder re-qualify by completion of an approved weapons safety and training course.16

Disclosure or Use of Information

Kansas does not allow personal application or license information of concealed weapons license holders to be made public. Records relating to persons issued licenses, applicants for licenses, or persons denied licenses are confidential and must not be disclosed in a manner which enables identification of any such person.17 However, records of a person whose license has been suspended or revoked are subject to public inspection. In addition, the attorney general maintains an automated listing of license holders and pertinent information, and such information is available upon request at all times to all law enforcement agencies when requested for a legitimate law enforcement purpose.18

Reciprocity

Since Kansas passed S.B. 45 into law in 2015, any person 21 years of age and older may carry a concealed firearm on their person without a license or permit. 19

 

Notes
  1. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-6302(4). ⤴︎
  2. See Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c03(a). ⤴︎
  3. Id. ⤴︎
  4. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c03. ⤴︎
  5. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c04. A law enacted in Kansas in 2010 removed a number of disqualifying categories which had previously prevented certain other individuals from obtaining licenses. See 2010 Kan. SB 306 (effective July 1, 2010), amending Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c04. ⤴︎
  6. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c05(c)(2). ⤴︎
  7. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c05(e)(2). ⤴︎
  8. Id. Additional application and background check requirements, as well as license suspension and disqualification information, are detailed under Kansas Statutes Annotated §§ 75-7c03—75-7c05, and Kan. Admin. Regs. §§ 16-11-5, 16-11-8. ⤴︎
  9. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c04(b). ⤴︎
  10. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c04(b). ⤴︎
  11. Id. The attorney general has established standards pursuant to this provision. See Kan. Admin. Regs. §§ 16-11-2—16-11-4 for details. ⤴︎
  12. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c04(b)(2)(C). ⤴︎
  13. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c04(b)(2). ⤴︎
  14. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c03(a). ⤴︎
  15. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c08. ⤴︎
  16. 2010 Kan. SB 306 (effective July 1, 2010). ⤴︎
  17. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 75-7c06. ⤴︎
  18. Id. ⤴︎
  19. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-6302(4). ⤴︎