Kansas has no state statute specifically relating to firearms access by children, but state law prohibits any person from creating a hazard, which includes “[e]xposing, abandoning or otherwise leaving any explosive or dangerous substance in a place accessible to children.”1  Kansas’ child endangerment statute also makes it a misdemeanor to knowingly and unreasonably cause or permit a child under the age of 18 years to be placed in a situation in which the child’s life, body or health may be endangered.2 This crime is aggravated and treated as a “person” felony when an individual recklessly causes or permits a child under the age of 18 years to be placed in a situation in which the child’s life, body or health is endangered.3

State administrative regulations govern storage of firearms in certain locations.

See our Child Access Prevention policy summary for a comprehensive discussion of this issue.

Notes
  1. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-4212(a)(3). ⤴︎
  2. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-5601(a). ⤴︎
  3. Kan. Stat. Ann. § 21-5601(b)(1). ⤴︎